WEBINAR: Self-Employment and Entrepreneurship for People with Disabilities

Insights from CSG’s Work Matters Report

Ted Townsend headshot

Ted Townsend

POSTPONED! RSVP below to be the first to discover the new date and time. 

RSVP HERE

Featuring
J. Edward (Ted) Townsend III, Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development

Faced with serious barriers to employment, many Americans with disabilities find new ways to earn an income and enter the workforce. According to the Department of Labor, fully 10 percent of individuals with disabilities who are working are actually their own bosses.

That is why an entire chapter of the Coalition of State Government’s new Work Matters report talked about strategies for state governments to support Self-Employment and Entrepreneurship for people with disabilities. Join us for a detailed conversation with J. Edward (Ted) Townsend III of the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development. Together, we will talk about this ground breaking report and policies that can support the entrepreneurial dreams of people with disabilities.

Live Captioning Provided. Free of Charge.

Speaker Bio: J. Edward (Ted) Townsend III currently serves as Chief Operating Officer for the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, where he oversees the department’s day-to-day affairs. Prior to becoming COO, Townsend was assistant commissioner of strategy where he oversaw all rural programs—including Select Tennessee, ThreeStar, Tennessee Main Street, Tennessee Downtowns and Retire Tennessee—along with federal grant programs that include Community Development Block Grants, the Delta Regional Authority and the Appalachian Regional Commission. Mr. Townsend also has served the department as TNECD regional director over the greater Memphis region comprised of Fayette, Lauderdale, Shelby and Tipton counties.

Before joining TNECD, Townsend was the cofounder and COO of arGentis Pharmaceuticals LLC of Memphis, a privately held biopharmaceutical company involved in the licensing, development and commercialization of therapies for auto-immune and ophthalmic diseases. During his tenure, the company successfully raised $2 million in capital from angel and institutional investors. A graduate of the University of Memphis, Townsend also served as executive vice president and managing partner of Agile Minds LLC, a consulting firm in health care and life sciences. He currently serves on the board of directors of arGentis, LifeScience Tennessee and the Memphis Research Consortium.

DATE: Wednesday, March 8, 2017
TIME: 1:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. CT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 10:30 a.m. PT

RSVP HERE

Please share: